Speed dating lyon
The development of Sauchiehall Street was part of the westward growth of the city, spurred by the desire of wealthy merchants to own property on the outskirts.
Villas and terraces with distinguished names like Kensington and Windsor Place were constructed during the second decade of the 19th Century and the street became a quiet and narrow suburban thoroughfare known as Saughie-haugh Road.
Unfortunately, the business was not a success and it closed in May 1923, whereupon another major renovation began.
The facade was replaced with a more contemporary one and three new floors were built within the space formerly occupied by the auditorium.
( Postcard published by Judges Ltd., Hastings ) This Valentine’s photo was taken at the same location in 1932 and the ornate street lights have now been replaced by more utilitarian ones with a longer reach, providing better illumination over the roadway.
The policeman on point duty has stopped traffic so that the tramcar can turn right into Sauchiehall Street from Renfield Street. ) A tramcar heading for the International Exhibition at Kelvingrove Park is just turning into Sauchiehall Street from Renfield Street in this 1901 scene.
Sauchiehall Street is a name unique to Glasgow and yet known well beyond the city limits.
It’s a long street by Glasgow standards and was renowned for its department stores, hotels, cinemas, restaurants and tearooms as well as art galleries and a range of smaller businesses.
After the war, the YMCA reopened the theatre as the Lyric Theatre.Harris, the tobacconist, and a service offering hair cutting, shaving, chiropody and manicure.Part of Renfield Street United Free Church is visible on the left, beyond the intersection, and a branch of R. Mc Coll, the confectioner, has good exposure on the corner.A crowded, former horse-drawn tramcar bound for Botanic Gardens is coming round the corner from Renfield Street while a smartly dressed man waits beside the kerb.